By Adrienne Fawcett
Now that we’re well into the summer routine, the subject of curfew is coming up in many homes. How late is too late—legally? Do older teens get to stay out later than younger teens and tweens? Are there different curfews for weeknights vs. weekends? What happens if they’re out past the witching hour? Can they stay out late if they’re with an adult? GazeboNews asked the authorities for the scoop. Here’s what they said:
Lake Bluff Deputy Police Chief David Belmonte:
Lake Bluff’s curfew is midnight on Friday and Saturday, and 11:00 a.m. Sunday-Thursday for anyone under 18. There are not any variances in the hours for “younger or older” teens. The only exception to the curfew hours are if the teen is in the company of a guardian or other responsible adult age 18 or older. This would mean they need to be with an adult family member or other adult with their guardian’s permission. So if a child is at a friend’s home and the friend’s parent is going to drive them home after curfew, this would be allowed as long as the child’s parents approved it. If it is a baby-sitter, they need to be 18 or older and approved by the parents to transport the child home.
Teens out past curfew are subject to being brought to the police department and having to have a parent or guardian come and pick them up. The teen can be issued a citation to appear in court, or possibly referred to the Lake Bluff/Lake Forest Teen Court program. Any fines or community service would be imposed by the court.
For 16 and 17 year olds with driver’s license, they need to remember that an Illinois Driver’s license is not valid after curfew, and the can be arrested for driving without a valid driver’s license.
Lake Forest Deputy Police Chief Glenn Burmeister:
Curfew is a status offense. Typically they are issued administrative hearing tickets, have to appear at the hearing with their parent and are fined, given community service. Fines range from $75 to $750 plus $40 administration hearing fee.
Sec. 47-7.22 CURFEW
(a) It is unlawful for a person less than 18 years of age to be present at or upon any public assembly, building, place, street or highway at the following times unless one of the exceptions listed in Subsection (b) applies:
(1) Between 12:01 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. Saturday;
(2) Between 12:01 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. Sunday; and
(3) Between 11:00 p.m. on Sunday to Thursday, inclusive, and 6:00 a.m. on the following day.
(b) This Section shall not apply to any person less than 18 years of age who is:
(1) accompanied and supervised by (A) a parent, (B) a legal guardian, or (C) other responsible companion at least 21 years of age and approved by a parent or legal guardian;
(2) engaged in or traveling to or from a business or occupation that the laws of Illinois authorize a person less than 18 years of age to perform;
(3) attending or traveling to or from an official school, religious, or civic activity;
(4) attending or traveling to or from any assembly activity for which a permit has been lawfully issued;
(5) involved in an emergency involving the protection of a person or property from an imminent threat of serious bodily injury or substantial damage; or
(6) traveling between states or internationally from a location outside of Illinois to another location outside of Illinois.
(c) A police officer shall not take any enforcement action under the Section unless the police officer reasonably believes that a violation of this Section has occurred and that no exception listed in Subsection (b) is applicable.
(d) It is unlawful for a parent, legal guardian, or other person to knowingly permit a person in his or her custody or control to violate this Section.